The oldest record of Zbąszyń dates back to 1231. The town was incorporated prior to 1311. Until the end of the 14th century Zbąszyń was the property of the Crown. In the 15th century King Władysław Jagiełło gifted the town to Mazovian Voivode Jan Głowacz. His family assumed the surname Zbąski. In the first half of the 15th century, Zbąszyń, owned by Abraham Zbąski, became an important centre of Hussitism in Wielkopolska. In 1613, the ownership of Zbąszyń was passed to the Ciświcki family, who completed the construction of a huge fortress, the remnants of which can still be seen in the municipal park. In 1700, the town became the property of the Garczyński family, and after the second partition of Poland in 1793 it was absorbed by Prussia. In the mid-19th century, the town was afflicted by fires and floods. In 1870, an important railway junction was built here. In 1918, heavy fighting erupted around Zbąszyń during the Wielkopolska Uprising. Zbąszyń returned to Poland in 1920. In 1938, the locals witnessed brutal deportations of Polish Jews from Germany to Poland. Some 9,000 refugees found shelter in Zbąszyń.
Currently, Zbąszyń is a charming little town with a population of 7,000 located in Wielkopolska Voivodeship on the River Obra and the Lake Błędno. During summer months it attracts tourists, water sports enthusiasts, runners or those who enjoy folklore and history.
Interesting cultural events are organised in the town: concerts, the international theatre festival Experyment, Biesiada Koźlarska. In the town square there is the Museum of Zbąszyń and the Region of the Goat, with an interesting exposition and temporary exhibitions from various disciplines. The castle keep contains “Baszta” municipal art gallery presenting modern art.
We invite you to explore Zbąszyń – a small town with big history and culture.
Places worth seeing:
St Mary’s Church
Zbąszyń Fortress tower and fragments of fortifications
Museum of Zbąszyń and the Region of the Goat